The Exposition of Nature of Slovak Karst and Surrouding Areas presents an unusual variety of natural phenomena and beauties of the given area. It is installed in a building built as a shelter for the poor known as “Františka´s Asylum“ in 1904. The flora and fauna biotope communities present a living nature. A part of the exposition dedicated to non-living nature documents an earth evolution, geological periods and features, a geological structure of Spiš-Gemer Ore Mountains and Slovak Karst as well as an appearance of minerals there.
This beautiful art noveau building was built by Dionýz Andrássy (1835 – 1913) then owner of the Krásnohorské county, known patron of the arts, with the aim of housing his valuable collection of paintings and sculptures and his library of books. The ground-floor building with a ground-plan of a Greek cross based on plans was realized by the architect Dezider Hultl from Budapest. The gallery since its opening in June 1909 until the death of its owner in 1913, when the works were transported by his will to Budapest, served its purpose and was opened to visitors two days a week. The Mining Museum in Rožňava acquired this building in 1967. Between 1978 – 1989 the Exhibition of Folk Art work in Gemer was installed here. Since 1990 the building was reverted to its original mission and an exhibition of fine art was set up in it, presenting portrait works from the 18th and 19th centuries. In reference to its founder it continues even today through seasonal installed exhibitions and organizing social and cultural events. Among the installed fine art works especially stands out the large-scale oil painting (280 cm x 336 cm) the Death of Attila (1884) by Ferencz […]
Lipová 122, Krásnohorské Podhradie
Gallery of Mining Museum in Rožňava The gallery is located in a burgher’s house. The core of this building was probably built at the end of 15th century. The exhibits, crafting classes, museum-pedagogical classes, meetings and own or extraneous fine art exhibitions usually take place here. Námestie baníkov 25, 048 01 Rožňava Phone: +421 58 732 30 41 Opening hours and Entrance Fees: Monday – Friday 9:00 am – 12:00 noon 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm Adult / Student, Senior citizens, Disabled person, Retired military person – 1,20 € / 0,60 € Family (2+2) – 2,50 €
Námestie baníkov 25, Rožňava
The wooden Greek Catholic church of the Holy Evangelist Luke, 1826, NKP The wooden Greek Catholic church in the village of Krivé is characterized by both its massiveness and also simplicity of the structure. It was built during the ministry of the Greek Catholic priest Fr. Ján Halík in 1826 on a spot of an older object and it is dedicated to Saint Luke. Log structure stands on stone sustaining wall, which is disappearing on its western side. The whole building has unified rectangular ground plan with a polygonal sanctuary, prolonged nave and square tower. Belfry with two bells is finished with a baroque lantern and poppy head with a cross. One of the bells dates back to 1826, the year of the church construction. The church was covered with simple saddle roof, thus loosing the “three – tower” look, so typical for sacred objects in this area. Because of the shingles on the sanctuary and nave, and of the covering of the narthex with vertically laid boards, the church looks from outside as a one – part building. In reality, it is a three – spaced building. The entrance part is called the narthex. In the past it was […]
Gréckokatolícky farský úrad Kružľov 76, 086 04, Slovakia
The Slovak Technical Museum was ceremonially presented with the Schuster Family Museum of Cinematography on 20 October 2007 with the participation of Mr. Rudolf Schuster, former President of the Slovak Republic and members of his family. The collection includes rare exhibits documenting the pioneering era of documentary film in Slovakia. This is a collection of wooden fi lm cameras for 35mm fi lm from the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.
Thanks to the unique project, the unattractive wall on Okružná – Suchomlynská – Baštová in Prešov was transformed into a beautiful exterior gallery. The project is still ongoing and new works are continuously increasing.
The wooden church of the Nativity of the Theotokos, 1923 The first Greek Catholic church in Hutka was built in last third of the 18th century, and dedicated to Saints Cosmas and Damian. However, it was destroyed by fire in 1915. The second Church, also originally a Greek Catholic church, was built in 1923. It was dedicated to the Nativity of the Theotokos. A lack of finances rushed the building process. The construction consists of one part, three spaces with three towers and crosses. The church is of rustic structure, the tower of columned structure. The entrance is from the western part. The entire body of the church is covered with wooden boards. The tower is set to the front of the church. Presently two bells hang in the tower, one of them being from the 18th century. In the middle of the roof is set small tower with onion dome and a one-bar decorated cross. Rectangular windows in the narthex, nave and sanctuary provide sufficient light for the interior of the church. No Iconostasis is constructed in the church. There are only three scattered icons of the main row: Theotokos (Hodigitria), Christ the Teacher and icon of the Nativity […]
Vyšný Mirošov 71, 09011 Vyšný Mirošov
Jasenov Municipality is successfully implementing the Jasenov Castle Rescue Project in cooperation with the Jasenov Castle Rescue Association. Jasenovský hrad – national cultural monument (registered under ÚZPF – 126/1) The ruins of Jasenov Castle are located south of Humenné (4.5 km from the center) above the village of Jasenov 1327 Jezenew, 1548 Jezenyew, 1808 Jeszenö, 1907-1913 Várjeszenö, 1920 Jasenov The beginnings of castle construction are unclear. The first known owner was son of Peteň from Bačkovce before 1316. Also this castle between 1317 and 1327 becomes the property of the Drugeth, who owned it until 1644. In 1644 it was conquered and destroyed by the troops of Juraj I. Rakoczi. In addition to the Drugeth, the other owners of the castle were Barkóczi, Tadeáš of Jasenov, Szirmay, Count Van der Nath and Andrássy. On the initiative of Gejz Andrássy, at the beginning of the 20th century, several buildings were covered and fortified walls and a modified entrance area were preserved. Completing these works completely prevented the First World War. The castle became famous for its counterfeit workshop, which made false Polish groschen and golden florins with the name of Louis II. and Ferdinand I of an alloy of silver and […]
September 8 – 14.2019 The TRANS/MISIE Art Festival is held in Košice, Slovakia, under the baton of the State Theatre Košice.
The historic viaduct located in a beautiful natural environment between Kopráš and Mníšany (the local part of the village of Magnezitovce) is one of the valuable technical monuments of the so-called “Gemersky spojky”. Gemers’ clutches were a complex of railway lines that were supposed to replace the old railway connections interrupted by the forced withdrawal of a large part of Slovakia to Hungary before World War II. As a result of the later return of these territories, they were not completed and not used. The vaulted viaduct, 120 long and 36 meters high, is beautifully landscaped and remarkably reminds of the much more familiar Chmaroš Viaduct near Telgárt. Since no means of transport pass through it, it is suitable for walking or cycling. The bridge is accessible from the village of Magnezitovce and its visit can be connected with the crossing of nearby Koprášský and Slavošovský tunnels, which lie on the same unfinished railway route.
The Jewish Suburbia is the unique nineteenth century urban complex which consists of a synagogue, ritual baths (Mikvah), an assembly hall (Beit Midrash) and adjacent facilities including a kosher abattoir. In the past, the Jews were forbidden to inhabit royal towns such as Bardejov and thus the suburbia is located outside of the town’s walls. The Jewish Suburbia was registered into UNESCO World Heritage in 2000, together with the historical core of Bardejov. The multitude of ethnicities contributed to the sophisticated period urban culture and as such the suburbia is an inseparable part of the UNESCO registration. A unique holocaust memorial was introduced in 2014 near the area of the complex. It contains names of more than 3000 victims, arrayed according to their respective families. The memorial garden serves as a symbol for the final rest of Bardejov’s Jews as well as for conciliation of town’s inhabitants with their own past.
Brekov Castle was a medieval castle whose ruins can be easily watched by the road between Strážske and Humenné. It can be seen from far. It is located on the western edge of Humenske vrchy – part of the Vihorlat Hills, above the village of Brekov at 280 m above sea level. m. It was built in the Middle Ages as a guard castle along with other nearby castles – Jasenov, Vinné, Čičva. The castle hill is a distant circular view. Brekov Castle was declared a cultural monument in 1963. Since 2009, the castle has been under reconstruction and rescue by the Civic Association for the Preservation of Brekov Castle, which since 2009 has been a member of the Zachráňme hrady Castles Association. The castle grounds are open to visitors.
The wooden Greek Catholic church of St. Basil the Great, 1730, NKP Krajné Čierno is a filial church of the ancient parish of Ladomirová. The church in this village was built in 1730. It is dedicated to St. Basil the Great – one of the most important eastern saints. In the WWII, during the fights for control over the Dukla pass was the village together with the church severely damaged. It was renovated in 1947 – 1948. The church stands on a stone foundation. It has three parts, three spaces, three towers and three crosses. The main tower is above the narthex. On the top of each tower is set a three-barred cross. In the tower hangs one bell, from 1876. The iconostasis (National cultural monument – NKP) in the church is in four rows, with icons displayed on four levels. It was done at the time of the building of the church, in the 18th century, with some of the icons being from 17th century. In the first row are curiously five icons: Ascension of Our Lord, St. Nicholas, Theotokos (Hodigitria), Christ the Teacher and St. Basil the Great. Other curiosity is the presence of only two doors in […]
Gréckokatolícky farský úrad, Ladomirová 134, 090 03
The Museum of icons is a unique exhibition of religious objects of the eastern tradition on the territory of Slovakia presents icons – a table shaped paintings of saints usually located on the church doors. The exhibition captures the development of icons of the Carpathian type from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century. Other items on display include canvas based icons, quilted priest attire as well as various furniture of eastern rite. The icons were displayed on several international exhibitions including Expo ’70 in Osaka, Japan.
The wooden Greek Catholic church of St. Michael, 1829, NKP The Wooden filial church in Frička was built in 1829 on a smooth mound in the middle of the village. To this time belongs also the present shape of the church, although it consequently underwent several modifications in 1933 and 1971. It is dedicated to the St. Michael the Archangel. Regarding architecture, this is a church with three parts, three spaces, and two towers with three crosses. The church is built on a stone foundation. The structure of the church is rustic, tower has columned structure. Dominant of the western side is the massive tower with a space for three bells, the oldest one being from 1697. In the church is wooden iconostasis, separating the nave and the sanctuary, dated to 18th and 19th century. The Iconostasis has five rows. First (main) row consists of these icons: Holy Father Nicholas, Theotokos (Hodigitria), Christ the Teacher, patron feast icon of St. Michael the Archangel. In second row are icons of various feasts, divided unconventionally by the Veraicon. Next, the third row consists of icons of the apostles, where the icon of Christ the High Priest is in the middle. Fourth row […]
Gréckokatolícky farský úrad, Petrová 62, 086 02
The town hall is situated in the middle of the town square. Slovak historians considered it to be the first secular renaissance building in the territory. Since its inception the town hall emphasized the importance of Bardejov in the upper Šariš region. In addition to being the seat of the town council, the building also served as a socio-cultural center. While the ground floor served for commerce, the premises of the first floor functioned as town’s treasury. At present, the town hall serves as a place for the historical exhibition “The Free Royal Town of Bardejov”. The most famous being that of Knight Roland – the defender of city’s rights. On the other side of the spectrum lies an infamous sculpture of a boy, bent over and displaying his naked buttocks towards the reeve’s house. The cheeky piece is an ingenious form of revenge against the city’s officials who denied the artisans their rightful pay. The most important artefacts of the exhibition include gothic sculptures, period guilds items, urban seal of 1453, precious Venetian glasses, a brilliant ring of Empress Elisabeth as well as The Little Calvary – an opus of magister Paul of Levoča. The artistic value of Bardejov’s […]
The wooden Greek Catholic church of St. Paraskeva, 1705, NKP The Greek Catholic wooden church of St. Parasceve was built in 1705. Parasceve was a daughter of rich Christian parents in Iconium. After the death of her parents, she inherited great fortune, which she distributed among the poor. Because of her wovs of chastity, she refused all those aspiring to marry her. During the persecutions under the emperor Diocletianus she was accused as a Christian and thrown into a jail. After many tortures she was murdered by a sword. . Towards the end of the WWII, the village was destroyed and the church was damaged. When being renovated its architecture was enlarged by two side chapels, thus giving to the church a ground – floor in a shape of a cross, being unique in the Eastern Slovakia. The last renovation took place in 2001 – 2002, when the coat and the roof were replaced. The church has five parts, five spaces, built on low stone foundation. It is adorned with three towers and five crosses. The body of the church and the walls of the towers are cased with vertically laid panels and boards. The whole church is covered with […]
Gréckokatolícky farský úrad, Kapišová 3, 090 01
The statue of Juraj Janosik stands in Terchova above the village towards Vratna Valley. It was built by locals to their famous native. It is a monumental statue of an over – lifetime size. The statue of Juraj Jánošík is made of stainless steel sheet and measures 7 and a half meters. It’s author is academic sculptor Ján Kulich and statue was built in 1988.
The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice – Slovakia The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice (SFK) was founded in 1968. In short time it ranked amongst foremost representatives of the Slovak performance art and recorded remarkable achievements on the concert stages of European countries but also in a number of substantial cities of Asia and Americas. The orchestra performs more than 60 concerts during a concert season. The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice had concerts on the International Music Festivals and in the outstanding cultural centres. In 1994, SFK presented as a first Slovak Symphonic orchestra in America. The orchestra worked with many foremost artists such as Valerij Gergiev, Alexander Rahbari, Jiří Bělohlávek, Thomas Sanderling, Tadeusz Strugala, Antoni Wit, Libor Pešek, Emin Khatshaturyan, Edita Gruberová, Luciano Pavarotti, Plácido Domingo, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Igor Oistrakh, Gidon Kremer, Julia Fischer, Giora Feidman and others. In addition to the active concert activities, SFK presents its art through recordings for radio and television broadcasting as well as for record companies (above 160 CDs). The recordings for the publishing houses Naxos, Marco Polo and others often represent unique recordings of works seldom performed. Since 1991 SFK is the principal organiser of two International Festivals: The Košice Music Spring Festival and […]
Zborov Castle or known as Makovica near the village of Zborov in the district of Bardejov is nowadays ruined by a former castle. The first written mention of the castle comes from the early 14th century. The craft of 1355 testifies to the craft. King Ľudovít I granted the castellan of the Makovica Castle (Zborovsky hrad) the privilege to search for gold and silver or other metals. The property of Cudarovci clan was in the years 1364 – 1470. After their death, the king Matej donated the estate to the Rozgonyiovci clan, who lived there until 1512. After them the castle was acquired by the Tárczayovci family, who belonged to 1548. Serédyovci family belonged in 1548-1601. bought the Rakocians. The imperial army attacked him in the period of the Estates uprising and in 1684 it was demolished. The struggle between the Russians and the Austrians during World War I also left a mark on him.
The wooden Greek Catholic church of the Protection of the Mother of God, 1770, NKP The wooden Greek Catholic church in Miroľa was built on a dominant plain in 1770 and is dedicated to the Protection of the Mother of God (Pokrov). The church has its architecture of Lemko‘s type, having three spaces. From outside is this division into three spaces stressed by gradual pyramidal roofs. The tower stands independently, outside the main structure, constructed on four bearing pillars. The whole structure is covered from outside with panels and also with a shingle roof. The upper third of the tower is covered with panels and equipped with small acoustic holes. The roof of the tower is pyramidal, having on the top a flattened onion dome that continues into a lantern. Above its roof is another tiny onion dome finished with a three barred cross. Iconostasis may be dated to the period of the construction of the church. Icons of the main row are on the first third of the 18th century, and are from the famous circle of the masters from the polish town of Ryboticze. The second, upper part of the iconostasis is from the second half of the […]
Hunkovce 99, 090 03, Slovensko
The wooden Greek Catholic church of the Meeting of Our Lord with Simeon, 1760, NKP This wooden Greek Catholic church in Kožany is dedicated to the feast of the Meeting of Our Lord with Simeon. This elder, who brings into his lap the young Christ, represents the Old Testament that yearns for the salvation and arrival of the Messiah, who is Jesus Christ. Simeon after meeting Christ proclaims that now he is ready to die, as he met the One, whom he was waiting for his whole life, the only One, who is giving sense to life and death. The church has according to the architectural point of view three parts, three spaces and three towers. It is built on a low stone foundation. The whole church has a log structure. The tower that rises from the wagon – headed roof gets narrower upwards, and is of pillar structure. On the top of the tower is a pyramidal roof with simple cross. Already in 1915, the tower had three bells, still preserved today. One of them is an extraordinary rare gothic bell from the year 1406, unique among the bells of wooden churches. Iconostasis in this church dates to the […]
Beloveža 11, 086 14, Kožany, Slovensko
The wooden Greek Catholic church of Protection of the Mother of God, 1763, NKP The wooden church of the Byzantine rite was built in Jedlinka in 1763 and is dedicated to the Protection of the Mother of God. Faithful Christians from ancient times have implored the Mother of God for protection, because they believe, that as the Redemption came through her in the person of her Son, Jesus Christ, thus also other graces come through her. Her intercession for us before God is considered as the most powerful one. From an architectural point of view this log structure consists of three parts: narthex, nave and sanctuary. The main tower of pillar structure is built over the narthex. In its upper part we may observe unique acoustic holes, in the shape of a triangle. Three bells hang in the tower. The whole church is covered with cleft shingles. Classic three – spaced interior is enriched by additionally built entrance behind the door, from which ladder stairs lead to the tower with relatively significant bell cabinet. Beautiful tiny towers with three decorated crosses, ironworks on doors, or shingle roof contribute to the picturesque beauty of the wooden sacral architecture. Historical ironwork on the […]
Mikulášová 6, 086 36, Slovensko
The wooden Greek Catholic church of St. Nicholas, 1658, NKP The wooden Greek Catholic church in Bodružaľ is one of the oldest wooden churches in Slovakia. It was built in 1658. The church in Bodružaľ is a log structure of three spaces, consisting of a smaller squared sanctuary, bigger squared nave and an narthex, located under the main tower. From outside, the church is covered with wooden panels and shingle roof. Pyramidal roof is finished with a poppy –heads with richly decorated forged crosses. The bottom part of the narthex, of the nave and of the sanctuary is vertically covered with boards. The main tower has two parts, getting narrower upwards. It is covered with boards and panels. In the house – top are acoustic holes of an interesting shape. Three bells are hanging in the tower, the oldest being from 1759. The areal of the church is surrounded by wooden fence with a shingle roof and an entrance gate of an almost circle ground plan. Iconostasis is unique and special because it is the only iconostasis painted from both sides. On the backside of the original iconostasis from the 17th century a present iconostasis was painted in the 18th […]
Hunkovce 99, 090 03, Slovensko
Free services: Information about the town and its surroundings Database of musems and galleries Information about cultural, sporting and social events Nature and its places of interest Walking routes, educational routes Bus and railway guides Services: Sale of information and promo brochures, books and maps Guides (in Slovak, English, German, Hungarian, French, Russian, Polish) Tickets service Guide services: English, German, Russian, French, Hungarian, Polish Professional guides to the history, mining, archeology, art, forestry and hunting, … Opening hours: may – june: 9:00 am – 5:00 pm july – august : 9:00 am – 6:00 pm september: 9:00 am – 5:00 pm october – april : 8:00 am – 4:00 pm
The wooden Greek Catholic church of the Holy Evangelist Luke, 1739, NKP The wooden church in Tročany is dedicated to the holy Apostle and Evangelist Luke. Probably it was transferred here from a close by located village of Rešov, a fact confirmed by gages on beams and dedication record at the icon of the Crucifixion. It is probably the oldest wooden church of the Eastern rite not only in Slovakia, but in whole Carpathian region. According to the church style it definitelly dates back to the turn of the 15th and 16th century at latest. The church is of a log structure. It has three parts, three spaces, two towers and three crosses. It stands on a low fundament. The entrance is protected by an extended roof and leads from the western part into the narthex. In the back part is a choir loft, accessible by wooden steps from the southern side of the nave. The apse is rectangular. The church is equipped with small windows in the nave and in the sanctuary. The bottom part under the tower consists of horizontally laid wooden panels. The peripheries of all three spaces are covered with shingles. These shingles are laid vertically, […]
Bardejov - Družba, Pod Papierňou 3958, 085 01, Slovakia
The wooden Greek Catholic church of the Protection of the Theotokos, 1764, NKP The filial church in Korejovce, Svidník district, was built in 1764. It is dedicated to the Protection of the Theotokos. The village together with the church was severely damaged in WWII in 1944, especially the roof, which broke and fell down by an explosion. Also the royal doors were damaged by that explosion. After the war was the church renovated in 1947. Regarding the architecture, this is a church with three parts, three spaces, three towers and three crosses. It is built on stone foundation, which is raised going west. The church structure is classically rustic. The tower has a columned structure. Above each onion dome on the towers are simply decorated three-barred crosses. The roof is covered with manually split shingles. The entrance is from the western side leading into narthex. The iconostasis has atypical architecture in four rows, with icons displayed on four levels. The icons of the second row (feasts) and third row (apostles) are dated to the 18th century. They were from the original wooden church in Krajná Bystrá, which presently does not exist any longer. The first row is narrow, and because […]
Krajná Bystrá 39, 090 05, Slovensko
The wooden Greek Catholic church of the Protection of the Mother of God, 1938, NKP The original wooden Greek Catholic church was built in Nižný Komárnik probably in the mid of the 18th century. It burned down during the WWI. Present wooden church was built in 1938 and again dedicated to the Protection of the Mother of God. During cruel fights in the village in the autumn of 1944 the church was almost miraculously damaged only a little. It was restored by faithful already in 1945. Project of the Ukrainian architect Vladimír Sičynský is respectable already from a distance. Architectural design makes optically the church bigger. This church is a unique example of the so called Boyko architectural type in Slovakia. The church structure consists of three parts, has three spaces with three towers, erected on stone fundaments, with lob construction. The church has the main entrance in the western part, leading into narthex. The church is covered with shingles. Roof and tambours are in a shape of an octagonal. Interesting about the church is also the fact, that the highest and the widest part of the church is the middle part, called also the nave. Whole church is equipped […]
Krajná Bystrá 39, 090 05, Slovensko
Who we are and what is VisitPoprad? We are the young people who love their work. If you work in tourism, you know what it’s all about. Of course, each job brings different heavier moments and complications you have to deal with. But working in the information center is like being a city and region advertisement. This is the first impression for a visitor. We represent the city. Everything must be tip-top. VisitPoprad is the name of our website, but the reason why we have tagged our Facebook site is simple. The word VISIT (visit) is worldwide known and foreign visitors know exactly what they are supposed to introduce. We are a member of the Association of Information Centers of Slovakia, We are professional guides, We are regularly trained, We are professionals in our region. We are heartbreaking work we do with the heart of tourism is rather a job as a profession, we always give you the basis of personal experience if we do not like something, we think that it would not be right for you, we will not send you to that place, we are good, but we want to be the best. What we offer you? […]
Andy Warhol Museum of Modern Art in Medzilaborce (MMUAW) was founded in the year 1991 as the first one in the world dedicated to the personality of the King of pop-art. Today, the Museum is a specific trans-regional institution of the museum-gallery type, dealing mainly with current tendencies in contemporary art and especially the life and work of Andy Warhol. Conceptually, it maps, presents, and professionally showcases not just the life and works of Andy Warhol, but also current trends in visual arts and culture, the influence of the ethnic origin of the artist on his work, the influence of pop-art on current art, and the related topics. This Museum is defined as the largest central collection of paintings and artifacts of Andy Warhol in Slovakia, it is an authority among museums, which meets the expectations of both professionals and general public for its unique position in the international area. The Museum has been in the founder´s competence of the Prešov Self-governing Region as of the 1st April 2002. Exhibitions: Permanent exhibition on the origins of Andy Warhol This is a conceptually unique exhibition in Europe. It consists of valuable authentic materials, artifacts from the life of Andy Warhol or […]
Andyho Warhola 748/36, 068 01 Medzilaborce
The ruins of Čabraď Castle are located in the middle of nature, undisturbed by a modern civilization, in the heart of a natural reservation in the cadastral area of Čabradský Vrbovok in Krupinský district in the Middle Slovakia. The beginnings of the castle are not known precisely because of insufficient and unclear sources, but it can be assumed that it originated in the 13th century, but more likely during the 14th century. The end of the castle can be considered year 1812 when its owner František Kohári ordered to burn it. The non-profit Rondel civic association is currently working on ruins, which is responsible for its preservation. Castle ruins are freely accessible all year round. http://www.rondel.sk/hrad/ako-sa-dostat-na-hrad/
The Town Information Centre is a member of the Association of Information Centres of Slovakia, which provides detailed information not only for the inhabitants of Lučenec, but also for Slovak and foreign visitors. It provides paid and free services: Spatial information system – complete information about Lučenec and its surrounding / services provided by entrepreneurs, accommodation and catering facilities, transport etc./ Up-to-date information about important events and attractions in Lučenec and Slovakia / cultural and sports events etc./ Information on cultural monuments and natural attractions Advice for students of tourism Surveys and analyses in the field of tourism Participation in tourism exhibitions Tips for trips and walks sales of promotional material / postcards, maps, tourist guides, books, brochures/ sales of souvenirs pre-sales of tickets to cultural and sporting events fax and copying services Internet access
The neologic synagogue was built between 1924 – 1925 according to the plans of the architect Leopold (Lipót) Baumhorn, who had designed and rebuilt 22 synagogues in the territory of the former Kingdom of Hungary. In his architectural designs he preferred pompous oriental principle. The synagogue was handed over to the Jewish Religious Community during the ceremony on 8th September 1925. It was among the largest synagogues in Slovakia having the capacity of 1,042 places. Until 1944 the synagogue had served for its original purpose – religious ceremonies of the Jewish community. Its dominating structure is a monumental dome. It was reconstructed from 1st June 2015 to 31st December 2015. The reconstruction focused on construction and handicraft works. The synagogue has become a multicultural space after the reconstruction. It is a national cultural monument and is included in the Slovak Jewish Heritage Route.
The fountain is a rugged water reservoir with baroque elements and an interesting composition of five neo-classical stables. In the middle of the water surface on the stone tops, the character sculpture of Neptune, whose attitude resembles a pose characteristic of the Roman emperors. It complements five smaller statues with animal motifs. The first is a great fish that is wrapped around Neptune’s feet. In the direction of the world’s land on the four stone islands, they find a smaller sculpture in the east, a snake in the north, a turtle in the west, and a crocodile in the south. All of these freshwater animals are squirting water with mouth openings. The Neo-Classicist set-up was given in the early 19th century. to build a Jewish trader from Galicia. It was Marek Holländer who lived between 1760 and 1849. It was an expression of gratitude for the town council’s permission to settle and entertain in the city, because until the reforms of Joseph II which lasted from 1780 until 1790 they could not live in Prešov no Jew. The Neptune Fountain is one of the most beautiful art-historical monuments in the city. After reconstruction in the 90th Century, the fountain gained […]
The wooden Greek Catholic church of the Protection of the Theotokos, 18. stor., NKP The wooden Greek Catholic Church of the Protection of the Mother of God in Hunkovce is in the middle of the village on a tiny hill on the cemetery, surrounded by trees. Many unique wooden churches were created in the central and eastern part of the Carpathians, being specific example of the sacred art of the Eastern Christianity. These churches reflect on one hand the simplicity and the poverty of the people of the region, on the other hand they confirm the firm hope and the trust, that one puts into his God. According to recent researches, the church in Hunkovce dates back to the end of the 18th century. It is divided into traditional three parts. The first is the narthex, located under the main tower. Originally it was a place reserved for catechumens or penitents. Next part of the church is the nave that is attached to the narthex. It is the largest space of the whole church. Here the faithful gathers for services. It represents the Church in pilgrimage, Christians living here on this earth. The third and the most important part of […]
Gréckokatolícky farský úrad, Hunkovce 99, 090 03
This sword is an interesting monument of Nitra and fascinates mainly tourists passing through the pedestrian zone. It is a symbol of many people’s legends and rumors about the city and its guardian Pribin. It is meant to symbolize peace and peace in the county. The sword was made as an enlarged copy of the historical artifact found in the 9th century tomb of the prince.
Fierce fights for the strategic gap of the Váh and the mountain range Malá Fatra near Strečno in the north-west of Slovakia took place between the German army and the partisans of the Slovak National Uprising (SNP). A memorial was built on the hill Zvonica to commemorate the dead heroes.
The Cathedral of St Elisabeth is a Gothic cathedral in Košice. It is Slovakia’s largest church and one of the easternmost Gothic cathedrals in Europe. The record of the existence of Kassa, dating from 1230, is connected with the existence of the rectory church.
Hlavná 30/54, 040 01 Košice
The Šariš Gallery was founded in 1956 as the Regional Gallery in Prešov, it has been named since 1991. It belongs to the oldest regional galleries in Slovakia. The construction began in 1957. It was originally located in the building of the former Evangelical College (National Cultural Monument) in the northern part of the main square. In 1981, it acquired two monumentally-protected buildings, formerly Gothic houses with Renaissance and Baroque reconstructions in the municipal monument reserve, reconstructed for the needs of the gallery, and in the middle of the 8th years it acquired another building in the neighborhood (Hlavná 49) reconstruction to offer permanent expositions “Art of the region 15-20. century. ” His collection fund has built a gallery based on its own research and collection, especially purchases. At present, it owns over 4200 paintings, drawings, sculptures and graphics from the 15th – 20th centuries. It focuses mainly on northeastern Slovakia, but it searches, acquires and professionally processes works by artists from all of Eastern Slovakia, important representatives of modern Slovak fine arts and personalities associated with the region. From the collections of older art are remarkable collections of icons from the 16th – 18th centuries (the most precious is […]
Hlavná 51, 080 01 Prešov
The site has been settled since the Neolithic Age and fortified since the Bronze and Iron Age and later by Celts and Romans. The cliff (elevation 212 meters) is an ideal place for a fort due to its position at the confluence of the Danube and Morava rivers. The fort watches over an important trade route along the Danube as well as one branch of the Amber Road. The castle stands just inside Slovak territory on the frontier between Slovakia and Austria. The border runs from west to east along the Morava River and subsequently the Danube. Prior to 1989, the Iron Curtain between the Eastern Bloc and the West ran just in front of the castle. Although the castle was open to the public, the area surrounding it constituted a restricted military zone, and was heavily fortified with watchtowers and barbed wire. After the Velvet Revolution the area was demilitarised. The most photographed part of the castle is the tiny watchtower, known as the Maiden Tower. Separated from the main castle, it balances perilously on a lone rock and has spawned countless legends concerning imprisoned lovelorn daughters leaping to their deaths. Inside the castle is a sprawling landscape of walls, staircases, open courtyards and gardens in various states of disrepair. They are all, […]
The Historical Exposition of Museum – Presentation Collections is situated in the building of the former Markova Leatherworking Factory and presents the Museum´s most beautiful and valuable collection pieces. This exposition is unique in a form of the collection presentation within Slovakia because the collections are arranged by material groups. It presents more than 6 000 collection pieces mainly related to housing culture, ethnographic, numismatics, crafts and militaria. This building originally housed the central administrative offices of the former Markova Leatherworking Factory, which was established in 1782. The main facade of the building is neo-Classical. Shallow stucto reliefs in four semi-circular panels of the ground-floor Windows depict the process of making leather. In 1977 the building was given over to the Mining Museum in Rožňava, which uses it as its management offices and for presentation purposes. In 1999 the Historical Exposition of Museum – Presentation Collections was opened in this building. Šafárikova 31, 048 01 Rožňava Phone: +421 58 734 37 10 Opening hours and Entrance Fees: Monday – Friday 9:00 am – 12:00 noon 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm Entrance Fees: Adults / Students, Senior citizens, Disabled person, Retired military person – 2 € /1 € Preschool […]
Exposition of Mining and Metallurgy of Gemer Region The exposition is situated in the oldest purpose-built building in Central Europe intended for mining and metallurgy museum presentations. It presents a cross-section through the history of Gemer mining and metallurgy from the earliest times up to the present day with examples of original working tools, transport and loading equipment, and measuring and lighting devices used in mining. Part of the exposition is a technical copy of the medieval panel painting dated 1513 known as the Rožňava Mettercia. The new exposition which is installed in the renewed premises of the building is divided into several thematic units. Mining and metallurgy are the main subject of the exposition, specifically their history and development, with the focus on the region of Gemer. Visitors can see richer exposition on collection items that underwent restoration and a number of new items from acquisition work. By showing of valued geological and archeological collection pieces the authors emphasize the richness and diversity of minerals in Gemer. Their goal was not to just map and present the ways of mining, extraction and processing of minerals, but have not forgotten about the development of production, development of culture and everyday […]
Šafárikova 43, Rožňava
The Regional Museum in Prešov is in its present form a museum with three organisational units in Prešov – Rákóczi Palace and its adjacent burghers´ houses (Hlavná 86-90), in Hanušovce nad Topľou – The Manor House and Archeopark and the Manor House in Stropkov. Regional Museum in Prešov was established in the autumn of 1945 and its main building is the Rákóczi Palace. Its history is closely connected with the history of the town. Initially, there were two Gothic burgher houses on the site of the present-day palace, which were bought at the end of the 16th century and rebuilt into a splendid Renaissance town palace by Sigismund Rákóczi – Prince of Transylvania. At present, there are located mainly historical displays, which give visitors an impression of the splendid palace and a comprehensive view of the historical development of the town and the region. Interesting is the ethnographic display presenting the traditional folk culture, or the display of non-living nature. The specialisation of the museum is the history of firefighting and fire equipment, which is the most extensive in Slovakia. Entrance fees Adult The whole museum €3,00 Historical display €1,50 Firefighting display €1,50 Ethnographic display €1,50 Natural history display €1,00 Current […]
Hlavná 86, 080 01 Prešov
It was built at the corner of Kubínyi Square in 1893 – 94 according to the design of Virgil Nagy and Viktor Kolbenheyer. The designers used fashionable neo-renaissance and neo-baroque elements. There were offices of the Lučenec town council until 2000. The most extended reconstruction of the historical building of the town hall was carried out in 2015. There is a monumental staircase richly decorated with stucco ornaments leading from the hall to the first floor. There is the town museum of Lučenec at present and the building of the town hall is also used for representation purposes. The town hall is a national cultural monument. History and art lovers should visit the town museum in Lučenec. Its expositions introduce chapters from the history of the town, the life of bourgeois, the production of factories and craftsmen, the school of our ancestors, the example of housing in the early 20th century and an art gallery presenting the work of the painter František Gyurkovits.