Uhrovec Castle is situated in a secluded location of the Strážovské Hills, 10 km northeast of Bánovce nad Bebravou. Although it has been in a ruinous situation for more than 150 years, it is architecturally one of the most valuable castles in Slovakia. It has preserved a late Romanesque chapel and towers, an extensive Renaissance palace with many architectural details, fireplaces, toilets, cisterns that have not been preserved on other castle ruins.
The relatively well-known ruin of Hrušov Castle is located on a stretched rocky ridge forming part of the eastern foothills of the Tríbeč Mountains. The first mention of the castle dates back to the end of the 13th century. For more information, visit the OZ Leustach website. The information used is taken from this site with the consent of the castellan of the castle Hrušov. For what we thank them.
Jasenov Municipality is successfully implementing the Jasenov Castle Rescue Project in cooperation with the Jasenov Castle Rescue Association. Jasenovský hrad – national cultural monument (registered under ÚZPF – 126/1) The ruins of Jasenov Castle are located south of Humenné (4.5 km from the center) above the village of Jasenov 1327 Jezenew, 1548 Jezenyew, 1808 Jeszenö, 1907-1913 Várjeszenö, 1920 Jasenov The beginnings of castle construction are unclear. The first known owner was son of Peteň from Bačkovce before 1316. Also this castle between 1317 and 1327 becomes the property of the Drugeth, who owned it until 1644. In 1644 it was conquered and destroyed by the troops of Juraj I. Rakoczi. In addition to the Drugeth, the other owners of the castle were Barkóczi, Tadeáš of Jasenov, Szirmay, Count Van der Nath and Andrássy. On the initiative of Gejz Andrássy, at the beginning of the 20th century, several buildings were covered and fortified walls and a modified entrance area were preserved. Completing these works completely prevented the First World War. The castle became famous for its counterfeit workshop, which made false Polish groschen and golden florins with the name of Louis II. and Ferdinand I of an alloy of silver and […]
The historic viaduct located in a beautiful natural environment between Kopráš and Mníšany (the local part of the village of Magnezitovce) is one of the valuable technical monuments of the so-called “Gemersky spojky”. Gemers’ clutches were a complex of railway lines that were supposed to replace the old railway connections interrupted by the forced withdrawal of a large part of Slovakia to Hungary before World War II. As a result of the later return of these territories, they were not completed and not used. The vaulted viaduct, 120 long and 36 meters high, is beautifully landscaped and remarkably reminds of the much more familiar Chmaroš Viaduct near Telgárt. Since no means of transport pass through it, it is suitable for walking or cycling. The bridge is accessible from the village of Magnezitovce and its visit can be connected with the crossing of nearby Koprášský and Slavošovský tunnels, which lie on the same unfinished railway route.
Brekov Castle was a medieval castle whose ruins can be easily watched by the road between Strážske and Humenné. It can be seen from far. It is located on the western edge of Humenske vrchy – part of the Vihorlat Hills, above the village of Brekov at 280 m above sea level. m. It was built in the Middle Ages as a guard castle along with other nearby castles – Jasenov, Vinné, Čičva. The castle hill is a distant circular view. Brekov Castle was declared a cultural monument in 1963. Since 2009, the castle has been under reconstruction and rescue by the Civic Association for the Preservation of Brekov Castle, which since 2009 has been a member of the Zachráňme hrady Castles Association. The castle grounds are open to visitors.
The ruins of Čabraď Castle are located in the middle of nature, undisturbed by a modern civilization, in the heart of a natural reservation in the cadastral area of Čabradský Vrbovok in Krupinský district in the Middle Slovakia. The beginnings of the castle are not known precisely because of insufficient and unclear sources, but it can be assumed that it originated in the 13th century, but more likely during the 14th century. The end of the castle can be considered year 1812 when its owner František Kohári ordered to burn it. The non-profit Rondel civic association is currently working on ruins, which is responsible for its preservation. Castle ruins are freely accessible all year round. http://www.rondel.sk/hrad/ako-sa-dostat-na-hrad/
The site has been settled since the Neolithic Age and fortified since the Bronze and Iron Age and later by Celts and Romans. The cliff (elevation 212 meters) is an ideal place for a fort due to its position at the confluence of the Danube and Morava rivers. The fort watches over an important trade route along the Danube as well as one branch of the Amber Road. The castle stands just inside Slovak territory on the frontier between Slovakia and Austria. The border runs from west to east along the Morava River and subsequently the Danube. Prior to 1989, the Iron Curtain between the Eastern Bloc and the West ran just in front of the castle. Although the castle was open to the public, the area surrounding it constituted a restricted military zone, and was heavily fortified with watchtowers and barbed wire. After the Velvet Revolution the area was demilitarised. The most photographed part of the castle is the tiny watchtower, known as the Maiden Tower. Separated from the main castle, it balances perilously on a lone rock and has spawned countless legends concerning imprisoned lovelorn daughters leaping to their deaths. Inside the castle is a sprawling landscape of walls, staircases, open courtyards and gardens in various states of disrepair. They are all, […]