It was built at the corner of Kubínyi Square in 1893 – 94 according to the design of Virgil Nagy and Viktor Kolbenheyer. The designers used fashionable neo-renaissance and neo-baroque elements. There were offices of the Lučenec town council until 2000. The most extended reconstruction of the historical building of the town hall was carried out in 2015. There is a monumental staircase richly decorated with stucco ornaments leading from the hall to the first floor. There is the town museum of Lučenec at present and the building of the town hall is also used for representation purposes. The town hall is a national cultural monument.
History and art lovers should visit the town museum in Lučenec. Its expositions introduce chapters from the history of the town, the life of bourgeois, the production of factories and craftsmen, the school of our ancestors, the example of housing in the early 20th century and an art gallery presenting the work of the painter František Gyurkovits.