The wooden Greek Catholic church of St. George, 1792, NKP
In 1792 on a slope above the village Jalová, the church was built small, but adequate for the number of faithful for Greek Catholic church. It was dedicated to St. George the Great-martyr. It was enlarged already in 1831. This church belonged to so called “churches in a fur coat”, it was plastered from outside, and whitened, and thus devalued. Other renovations took place in the church in 2002 and church was completely renovated, but not plastered.
It is a church of rustic structure, based on stone foundation. From the architectural point of view this is a classic, church with three spaces, three parts, two towers and two metal crosses. Main tower has columned structure, and is finished with an onion dome with a three-barred cross. Small tower above the sanctuary is also finished with a three-barred cross. Both towers, same as the roof are covered with shingles. There is only one entrance, from the western part. In the main tower are two bells. One is from 1908; second one was re-cast in 2001.
Iconostasis has architecture of five rows with icons placed on five levels. It is dated to the 17th century. First row consists of four main icons: St. Nicholas, Theotokos (Hodigitria), Christ and St. George the Great-martyr. Curiosity of the iconostasis is the fact, that main icons are placed upright on the iconostasis, because of the space reasons. Deaconal doors have no leaves. Royal doors have two leaves, adorned with six medallions (four Evangelists and about are two medallions of the Annunciation). Second row is the row of feasts. Main icon of Christ the High Priest is in the middle of the third, apostolic row. Fourth row contains four medallions with pairs of figures of prophets, but because of lack of space, they are placed on the ceiling. Iconostasis is finished by a cross with figures of the Theotokos and St. John the Evangelist.
Sunday: at 11.30 am
Holidays: at 8.00 am or 09.00 hrs.