Showing 12 from 19 ItemsToggle Filters
Harmanecká Cave or Harmanec Cave (Slovak: Harmanecká jaskyňa, Hungarian: Hermándi barlang) is a stalactite cave in Central Slovakia. It is located on the northern side of the Kotolnica massif in the Staré Hory and Kremnica mountain ranges and south of the Veľká Fatra mountains. The closest villages are Harmanec and Dolný Harmanec; Banská Bystrica is around 16 km south east of the cave. It is formed from Middle Triassic dark-grey Gutenstein limestone with an estimated age of 220 million years. The entrance to the cave is situated at an altitude of 821 m and 260 m above the bottom of the Harmanec valley.
Ružiná is a village and municipality in the Lučenec District in the Banská Bystrica Region of Slovakia.
The Bystrý Potok Waterfall (also called Bystré and Waterfalls Bystrô) is a national natural monument and protected landscape creation located in the cadastral area of Hriňová. It is located in the territory of the Slovak Highlands on the territory of Poľany in the upper part of Bystrý brook south to south-east of Poľana (1 458 m), under the saddle Priehybina at the height of 983 m. m. (peak – place of waterfall – waterfall). The height of the water overflow wall is 20 m (waterfall height). The waterfall is the overflow of the Bystrá stream, which is the right-hand tributary of Slatina, springing below Polana.
The neologic synagogue was built between 1924 – 1925 according to the plans of the architect Leopold (Lipót) Baumhorn, who had designed and rebuilt 22 synagogues in the territory of the former Kingdom of Hungary. In his architectural designs he preferred pompous oriental principle. The synagogue was handed over to the Jewish Religious Community during the ceremony on 8th September 1925. It was among the largest synagogues in Slovakia having the capacity of 1,042 places. Until 1944 the synagogue had served for its original purpose – religious ceremonies of the Jewish community. Its dominating structure is a monumental dome. It was reconstructed from 1st June 2015 to 31st December 2015. The reconstruction focused on construction and handicraft works. The synagogue has become a multicultural space after the reconstruction. It is a national cultural monument and is included in the Slovak Jewish Heritage Route.
Adyho 69/7, 984 01 Lučenec
The Town Information Centre is a member of the Association of Information Centres of Slovakia, which provides detailed information not only for the inhabitants of Lučenec, but also for Slovak and foreign visitors. It provides paid and free services: Spatial information system – complete information about Lučenec and its surrounding / services provided by entrepreneurs, accommodation and catering facilities, transport etc./ Up-to-date information about important events and attractions in Lučenec and Slovakia / cultural and sports events etc./ Information on cultural monuments and natural attractions Advice for students of tourism Surveys and analyses in the field of tourism Participation in tourism exhibitions Tips for trips and walks sales of promotional material / postcards, maps, tourist guides, books, brochures/ sales of souvenirs pre-sales of tickets to cultural and sporting events fax and copying services Internet access
Ul. Dr. Herza 1, 984 01 Lučenec
The ruins of Čabraď Castle are located in the middle of nature, undisturbed by a modern civilization, in the heart of a natural reservation in the cadastral area of Čabradský Vrbovok in Krupinský district in the Middle Slovakia. The beginnings of the castle are not known precisely because of insufficient and unclear sources, but it can be assumed that it originated in the 13th century, but more likely during the 14th century. The end of the castle can be considered year 1812 when its owner František Kohári ordered to burn it. The non-profit Rondel civic association is currently working on ruins, which is responsible for its preservation. Castle ruins are freely accessible all year round. http://www.rondel.sk/hrad/ako-sa-dostat-na-hrad/
Čabradský Vrbovok 110
Stone megalithic building with more than two meters of central menhir is located above B. Štiavnica. According to the authors of the building, the stone circle is intended to harmonize and replenish vital energy. Five large stones from the local stone quarry Šobov were used for the construction. The stone used is quartzite. Illustrative photos from donor collections of Mrs.Maďar and Mrs. Nagyová. For what we thank them.
Ranch Aljaska offers both horseback riding and carriage trips. We specialize in western style riding always aiming for a memorable experience rather than proper riding technique. Our approach is definitely more touristic than sportive. Therefore our gided rides and trips are suitable for both experienced riders and (but mostly) beginners. We guarantee our rides to be under any safe weather conditions always taking place outdoors – at meadows and through the woods with some absolutely spectacular views. Among our most popular options there is a ride 2-hour long, nonetheless we provide some day trips and a several-days-long excursions as well. email@example.com (EN +421 918 755 686)
The relatively well-known ruin of Hrušov Castle is located on a stretched rocky ridge forming part of the eastern foothills of the Tríbeč Mountains. The first mention of the castle dates back to the end of the 13th century. For more information, visit the OZ Leustach website. The information used is taken from this site with the consent of the castellan of the castle Hrušov. For what we thank them.
The Turček waterworks or water reservoir began to be built in 1992. Its main task is the accumulation and supply of raw water for the Turček water treatment plant, from where it supplies drinking water to the districts of Žiar nad Hronom, Handlová and Prievidza. Its secondary mission is to protect the upper reaches of the Turks from floods, to ensure its ecologically stable flow throughout the year, and to generate electricity in small hydroelectric power stations wherever the work creates slopes and flows with the possibility of their construction. The reservoir is located at the confluence of the Turiec and Ružový potok brooks above the village of Turček. The total catchment area is 29.5 km2. The average amount of water supplied to the water treatment plant is 15.8 mil. m3. The width of the valley is approximately 120 m and the altitude in the dam is 719 m. n. m. The total tank volume is 10.6 mil. m3, while its stock volume is 9.9 mil. m3. (the tank is filled twice a year) and the fixed volume is 0.3 mil. m3 of water. In the area of the dam are built objects ensuring the functionality of the water tank. […]
The incentive for the construction of the water structure Môťová was based on the post-war growth requirements of industrial companies in Zvolen. They required an urgent solution to water provision. The reservoir was created by damming the Slatina stream with a natural homogeneous dam. The construction of the waterworks did not require any resettlement of the population, liquidation of residential houses or other constructions. The flooded area consisted mainly of meadows and pastures. VS It was built on the river Slatina in the years 1953 – 1957. The filling of the reservoir was started in 1957. After reaching the maximum level, the function of the earth dam was performed. The Môťová reservoir serves for balancing the minimum flow rates on the Slatina River, it provides service water for the timber industry and for the Zvolen heating plant. Its secondary purpose is to produce electricity. As the reservoir is in the immediate vicinity of Zvolen, it is also used for recreation, sport fishing and water sports. The water work is administered by the Slovak State Water Management Company.
Uhrovec Castle is situated in a secluded location of the Strážovské Hills, 10 km northeast of Bánovce nad Bebravou. Although it has been in a ruinous situation for more than 150 years, it is architecturally one of the most valuable castles in Slovakia. It has preserved a late Romanesque chapel and towers, an extensive Renaissance palace with many architectural details, fireplaces, toilets, cisterns that have not been preserved on other castle ruins.