Showing 10 from 10 ItemsToggle Filters
The Cathedral of St Elisabeth is a Gothic cathedral in Košice. It is Slovakia’s largest church and one of the easternmost Gothic cathedrals in Europe. The record of the existence of Kassa, dating from 1230, is connected with the existence of the rectory church.
Hlavná 30/54, 040 01 Košice
The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice – Slovakia The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice (SFK) was founded in 1968. In short time it ranked amongst foremost representatives of the Slovak performance art and recorded remarkable achievements on the concert stages of European countries but also in a number of substantial cities of Asia and Americas. The orchestra performs more than 60 concerts during a concert season. The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice had concerts on the International Music Festivals and in the outstanding cultural centres. In 1994, SFK presented as a first Slovak Symphonic orchestra in America. The orchestra worked with many foremost artists such as Valerij Gergiev, Alexander Rahbari, Jiří Bělohlávek, Thomas Sanderling, Tadeusz Strugala, Antoni Wit, Libor Pešek, Emin Khatshaturyan, Edita Gruberová, Luciano Pavarotti, Plácido Domingo, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Igor Oistrakh, Gidon Kremer, Julia Fischer, Giora Feidman and others. In addition to the active concert activities, SFK presents its art through recordings for radio and television broadcasting as well as for record companies (above 160 CDs). The recordings for the publishing houses Naxos, Marco Polo and others often represent unique recordings of works seldom performed. Since 1991 SFK is the principal organiser of two International Festivals: The Košice Music Spring Festival and […]
Slovakia, Košice, Moyzesova 66
Newly renovated Route E58-Camp Košice is the only campsite found in Košice. The campsite is conveniently located in the immediate vicinity of the international airport, less than 4 km off the city center and the train station. You are free to pitch your tent or park the trailer on a large grass plot, find accommodation in the five double-room cabins for 5 people, two standard mobile houses for two people, one premium mobile house for 5 people (spare bed available) and finally, one suite for 5 people. The campsite offers: reception open 24/7 in summer and from 7 p.m. through 9 p.m. the rest of the year, sanitary facilities, showers with hot water, a kitchen, a buffet, a playground, a ping-pong table and open fire places (firewood can be bought). Free Wi-Fi on the site. Rent a free spot on the grass plot. Showers, toilets, kitchen and electricity at your disposal. Free Wi-Fi on site.
Červený rak 21
The historic viaduct located in a beautiful natural environment between Kopráš and Mníšany (the local part of the village of Magnezitovce) is one of the valuable technical monuments of the so-called “Gemersky spojky”. Gemers’ clutches were a complex of railway lines that were supposed to replace the old railway connections interrupted by the forced withdrawal of a large part of Slovakia to Hungary before World War II. As a result of the later return of these territories, they were not completed and not used. The vaulted viaduct, 120 long and 36 meters high, is beautifully landscaped and remarkably reminds of the much more familiar Chmaroš Viaduct near Telgárt. Since no means of transport pass through it, it is suitable for walking or cycling. The bridge is accessible from the village of Magnezitovce and its visit can be connected with the crossing of nearby Koprášský and Slavošovský tunnels, which lie on the same unfinished railway route.
The Slovak Technical Museum was ceremonially presented with the Schuster Family Museum of Cinematography on 20 October 2007 with the participation of Mr. Rudolf Schuster, former President of the Slovak Republic and members of his family. The collection includes rare exhibits documenting the pioneering era of documentary film in Slovakia. This is a collection of wooden fi lm cameras for 35mm fi lm from the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.
Štóska 16, 044 25 Medzev
Čavango is a teahouse and a place to relax right in the center of Košice on Hlavna street 20. You will experience intense taste of quality teas and drinks in a pleasant and cozy environment under the vaults between the Ionic columns.
Hlavná 20, Košice
The Ružín Water Structure is a system of water works (VD) of Ružín I and Ružín II., Built on the Hornád River, above Košice, from 1962 to 1972. It is located in the northeastern part of the Slovenské Rudohorie, where the River Hornád flows through a deep and narrow valley between the steep slopes of Volovské Hills and Čierna hora. The main purpose of the hydroelectric system is to provide water for the industry in the Košice region, to improve flow rates in order to improve water purity in the flow, electricity generation and partial flood protection of the area under the dam. The reservoir is also used for recreational purposes. The water work is administered by the Slovak State Water Management Company.
Above the village of Bukovec and next to the village of Hýľov there is a large Bukovecká artificial reservoir, serving as a supplementary reservoir of drinking water for the city of Košice and Košice surroundings. In addition to this reservoir, there is also a lower reservoir under Bukovec, which was built as an emergency reservoir of service water for metallurgical operation of VSŽ Košice. From the geomorphological point of view, it belongs to the area of Slovenské rudohorie and its mountain unit Volovské vrchy (valley in which the artificial reservoir forms the border of sub-units Holička and Kojšovská hoľa). The Bukovec Water Reservoir was built between 1968 and 1976. In addition to drinking water supply for the inhabitants, the reservoir also has a protective function, balancing fluctuating yields of the Košice group water supply, but also fulfills a protective function in reducing flood flows. Bukovec Reservoir is not open to the public, but is an important habitat for waterfowl, amphibians and birds. The habitat is predestined for the occurrence of more amphibians, mammals, insects and reptiles. The storage volume of the tank is about 25 million cubic meters. The length of the dam is 2.8 kilometers. The height of the […]
System of water works Dobšiná The system of water works consists of Palcmanská Maša – Vlčia Valley – Dobšiná. The first two were built between 1948 and 1954. The Dobšiná reservoir was created later, in 1957 – 1960, as a buffer reservoir below the Vlčá dolina valley in order to eliminate the fluctuations in the flows in the Dobšinský stream caused by the production of peak electricity. It is the first larger hydro-technical building in the east of Slovakia, on its contact with central Slovakia and it is situated in the western part of the Volovské Hills with water transfer from one catchment to another and from the Hornád catchment to the Slaná catchment. The water work also serves the so-called indirect effect. From this point of view, the accumulation tank Palcmanská Maša fulfills aesthetic, landscape and recreational-tourist role. Despite the predominantly energetic importance of the waterworks, its flood protection function, which has gained its current significance in recent years of frequent and extreme floods, is not negligible. The main objects of the system are the dam and accumulation tank Palcmanská Maša in Hnilec, the sampling object and pressure feeder, the lower reservoir created by the dam in Vlčina valley, […]
Zemplínska Šrava in the past called Zemplínska Sĺňava was built in 1961 – 1965 The primary purpose of the dam was to protect against flooding and irrigation of agricultural land, while recreation was originally considered only marginally. The dam is also a dry reservoir (so-called polder) Beša. Šírava is used for recreational purposes, sailing, flood protection, irrigation of the East Slovak Lowland and as a water source for industry (Vojany thermal power plant). The eastern part of the dam between the villages of Kusin, Hnojne and Jovsa is overgrown, which suits waterfowl. This area is reserved by ornithologists as a protected study area, a protected area was established here (see: CHA Zemplínska šírava) declared in 1968 on an area of 622 ha, the purpose of which is to protect the ornithological locality in the eastern part of the artificial water reservoir. of which 37 rare. Before the construction of the water reservoir there was no village on its surface. The space between the future resorts of Horka and Bear Mountain was used in 1939 by the German Luftwaffe to build a makeshift airport without a paved runway. The airport was used in the attack on Poland in the early World […]