Showing 12 from 19 ItemsToggle Filters
Devín CastleDevín Castle is a castle in Devín, which is a borough of Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia.
The site has been settled since the Neolithic Age and fortified since the Bronze and Iron Age and later by Celts and Romans. The cliff (elevation 212 meters) is an ideal place for a fort due to its position at the confluence of the Danube and Morava rivers. The fort watches over an important trade route along the Danube as well as one branch of the Amber Road. The castle stands just inside Slovak territory on the frontier between Slovakia and Austria. The border runs from west to east along the Morava River and subsequently the Danube. Prior to 1989, the Iron Curtain between the Eastern Bloc and the West ran just in front of the castle. Although the castle was open to the public, the area surrounding it constituted a restricted military zone, and was heavily fortified with watchtowers and barbed wire. After the Velvet Revolution the area was demilitarised. The most photographed part of the castle is the tiny watchtower, known as the Maiden Tower. Separated from the main castle, it balances perilously on a lone rock and has spawned countless legends concerning imprisoned lovelorn daughters leaping to their deaths. Inside the castle is a sprawling landscape of walls, staircases, open courtyards and gardens in various states of disrepair. They are all, […]
The Cathedral of St Elisabeth is a Gothic cathedral in Košice. It is Slovakia’s largest church and one of the easternmost Gothic cathedrals in Europe. The record of the existence of Kassa, dating from 1230, is connected with the existence of the rectory church.
Hlavná 30/54, 040 01 Košice
The neologic synagogue was built between 1924 – 1925 according to the plans of the architect Leopold (Lipót) Baumhorn, who had designed and rebuilt 22 synagogues in the territory of the former Kingdom of Hungary. In his architectural designs he preferred pompous oriental principle. The synagogue was handed over to the Jewish Religious Community during the ceremony on 8th September 1925. It was among the largest synagogues in Slovakia having the capacity of 1,042 places. Until 1944 the synagogue had served for its original purpose – religious ceremonies of the Jewish community. Its dominating structure is a monumental dome. It was reconstructed from 1st June 2015 to 31st December 2015. The reconstruction focused on construction and handicraft works. The synagogue has become a multicultural space after the reconstruction. It is a national cultural monument and is included in the Slovak Jewish Heritage Route.
Adyho 69/7, 984 01 Lučenec
The Town Information Centre is a member of the Association of Information Centres of Slovakia, which provides detailed information not only for the inhabitants of Lučenec, but also for Slovak and foreign visitors. It provides paid and free services: Spatial information system – complete information about Lučenec and its surrounding / services provided by entrepreneurs, accommodation and catering facilities, transport etc./ Up-to-date information about important events and attractions in Lučenec and Slovakia / cultural and sports events etc./ Information on cultural monuments and natural attractions Advice for students of tourism Surveys and analyses in the field of tourism Participation in tourism exhibitions Tips for trips and walks sales of promotional material / postcards, maps, tourist guides, books, brochures/ sales of souvenirs pre-sales of tickets to cultural and sporting events fax and copying services Internet access
Ul. Dr. Herza 1, 984 01 Lučenec
The ruins of Čabraď Castle are located in the middle of nature, undisturbed by a modern civilization, in the heart of a natural reservation in the cadastral area of Čabradský Vrbovok in Krupinský district in the Middle Slovakia. The beginnings of the castle are not known precisely because of insufficient and unclear sources, but it can be assumed that it originated in the 13th century, but more likely during the 14th century. The end of the castle can be considered year 1812 when its owner František Kohári ordered to burn it. The non-profit Rondel civic association is currently working on ruins, which is responsible for its preservation. Castle ruins are freely accessible all year round. http://www.rondel.sk/hrad/ako-sa-dostat-na-hrad/
Čabradský Vrbovok 110
The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice – Slovakia The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice (SFK) was founded in 1968. In short time it ranked amongst foremost representatives of the Slovak performance art and recorded remarkable achievements on the concert stages of European countries but also in a number of substantial cities of Asia and Americas. The orchestra performs more than 60 concerts during a concert season. The Slovak State Philharmonic, Košice had concerts on the International Music Festivals and in the outstanding cultural centres. In 1994, SFK presented as a first Slovak Symphonic orchestra in America. The orchestra worked with many foremost artists such as Valerij Gergiev, Alexander Rahbari, Jiří Bělohlávek, Thomas Sanderling, Tadeusz Strugala, Antoni Wit, Libor Pešek, Emin Khatshaturyan, Edita Gruberová, Luciano Pavarotti, Plácido Domingo, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Igor Oistrakh, Gidon Kremer, Julia Fischer, Giora Feidman and others. In addition to the active concert activities, SFK presents its art through recordings for radio and television broadcasting as well as for record companies (above 160 CDs). The recordings for the publishing houses Naxos, Marco Polo and others often represent unique recordings of works seldom performed. Since 1991 SFK is the principal organiser of two International Festivals: The Košice Music Spring Festival and […]
Slovakia, Košice, Moyzesova 66
18-hole Championship Course, rich with sand bunkers is what it makes it very interesting for all categories of players regardless of playing handicap.
Báč 113, 93030 Báč
Newly renovated Route E58-Camp Košice is the only campsite found in Košice. The campsite is conveniently located in the immediate vicinity of the international airport, less than 4 km off the city center and the train station. You are free to pitch your tent or park the trailer on a large grass plot, find accommodation in the five double-room cabins for 5 people, two standard mobile houses for two people, one premium mobile house for 5 people (spare bed available) and finally, one suite for 5 people. The campsite offers: reception open 24/7 in summer and from 7 p.m. through 9 p.m. the rest of the year, sanitary facilities, showers with hot water, a kitchen, a buffet, a playground, a ping-pong table and open fire places (firewood can be bought). Free Wi-Fi on the site. Rent a free spot on the grass plot. Showers, toilets, kitchen and electricity at your disposal. Free Wi-Fi on site.
Červený rak 21
The historic viaduct located in a beautiful natural environment between Kopráš and Mníšany (the local part of the village of Magnezitovce) is one of the valuable technical monuments of the so-called “Gemersky spojky”. Gemers’ clutches were a complex of railway lines that were supposed to replace the old railway connections interrupted by the forced withdrawal of a large part of Slovakia to Hungary before World War II. As a result of the later return of these territories, they were not completed and not used. The vaulted viaduct, 120 long and 36 meters high, is beautifully landscaped and remarkably reminds of the much more familiar Chmaroš Viaduct near Telgárt. Since no means of transport pass through it, it is suitable for walking or cycling. The bridge is accessible from the village of Magnezitovce and its visit can be connected with the crossing of nearby Koprášský and Slavošovský tunnels, which lie on the same unfinished railway route.
The Slovak Technical Museum was ceremonially presented with the Schuster Family Museum of Cinematography on 20 October 2007 with the participation of Mr. Rudolf Schuster, former President of the Slovak Republic and members of his family. The collection includes rare exhibits documenting the pioneering era of documentary film in Slovakia. This is a collection of wooden fi lm cameras for 35mm fi lm from the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.
Štóska 16, 044 25 Medzev
Gallery of Mining Museum in Rožňava The gallery is located in a burgher’s house. The core of this building was probably built at the end of 15th century. The exhibits, crafting classes, museum-pedagogical classes, meetings and own or extraneous fine art exhibitions usually take place here. Námestie baníkov 25, 048 01 Rožňava Phone: +421 58 732 30 41 Opening hours and Entrance Fees: Monday – Friday 9:00 am – 12:00 noon 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm Adult / Student, Senior citizens, Disabled person, Retired military person – 1,20 € / 0,60 € Family (2+2) – 2,50 €
Námestie baníkov 25, Rožňava
This beautiful art noveau building was built by Dionýz Andrássy (1835 – 1913) then owner of the Krásnohorské county, known patron of the arts, with the aim of housing his valuable collection of paintings and sculptures and his library of books. The ground-floor building with a ground-plan of a Greek cross based on plans was realized by the architect Dezider Hultl from Budapest. The gallery since its opening in June 1909 until the death of its owner in 1913, when the works were transported by his will to Budapest, served its purpose and was opened to visitors two days a week. The Mining Museum in Rožňava acquired this building in 1967. Between 1978 – 1989 the Exhibition of Folk Art work in Gemer was installed here. Since 1990 the building was reverted to its original mission and an exhibition of fine art was set up in it, presenting portrait works from the 18th and 19th centuries. In reference to its founder it continues even today through seasonal installed exhibitions and organizing social and cultural events. Among the installed fine art works especially stands out the large-scale oil painting (280 cm x 336 cm) the Death of Attila (1884) by Ferencz […]
Lipová 122, Krásnohorské Podhradie